City Council/Mayor

Hartley City Council



City Council meets at 5:30 p.m. on the 2nd Monday of each month in the Council Chambers located at City Hall at 11 S Central Ave. The public is always welcome.


Mayor & Council Members

The city of Hartley operates under the Mayor-Council Form of government with five (5) council members elected at large.

 Mayor  Term Expiring 12/31/2021
Rod Ahrenstorff  Phone: 712-260-3189

 Mayor Pro-Tem  Term Expiring 12/31/2021
Mary Westphalen  Phone: 712-260-0488
 Council Members  Term Expiring 12/31/2023
 Roxann Swanson  Phone: 712-728-2930

 Jerry Olson  Phone: 712-928-2371
 Council Members  Term Expiring 12/31/2021
 Ron Hengeveld  Phone: 712-928-3216

 Brian Myers  Phone: 712-240-3462

2020 Committees & Representatives

 Cemetery  Electric  Finance
 Hengeveld  Swanson  Westphalen
 Swanson  Hengeveld  Myers
 Fire/EM/911  Gas  Housing
 Hengeveld  Hengeveld  Westphalen
 Swanson  Westphalen  Hengeveld
 Insurance  Library  Personnel
 Olson  Westphalen  Olson
 Myers  Hengeveld  Myers
 Sewer  Sidewalk  Solid Waste
 Westphalen  Myers  Myers
 Olson  Hengeveld  Swanson
 Storm Water  Street  Swimming Pool
 Olson  Olson  Myers
 Swanson  Swanson  Westphalen
 Telecom  Water  
 Olson  Myers  
 Swanson  Westphalen